What to Know About Weed in NJ

Published: April 15, 2024

In the United States, 24 states out of 50 states have legalized cannabis for recreational use, while 38 have decriminalized cannabis use for medical purposes. New Jersey, located in the Mid-Atlantic region of the United States, is one of the many states to have recently legalized cannabis use, possession, and sales.

As with any of these other states, consumption of cannabis in New Jersey comes with several regulations you must know to stay out of trouble. This blog has provided everything you need to know about weed in New Jersey.

Weed Legalization In New Jersey

Legalization and decriminalization of cannabis is one goal that many states in the US have pursued fervently over the years. While many of the states seem averse to the idea and refuse to allow the use or sale of cannabis products in their territories, many others have chosen to enable legislation that legalizes the products. In January 2021, following a constitutional amendment by the state, New Jersey became the 14th American state to legalize cannabis and actively set regulations to regulate CBD products.

Although the constitution was amended in January, the bill to fully legalize weed wasn’t signed until February. Regardless, when this happened, it marked one step in the direction of the creation of a new market that was once regarded as a criminal offense. Hence, when Gov. Murphy signed three bills related to cannabis legalization. Weed became a controlled commodity available to adults older than the age of 21 years. 

While the legalization of weed was undoubtedly a pivotal moment for the state, it is important to note that not every part of New Jersey truly agreed with this decision to allow recreational weed to become legal. In fact, many municipalities backed out of the decision, with 60% of municipalities opting out by the fall of 2021. Today, 70% of the municipalities in New Jersey have denied the option of legalizing cannabis.

This decision made by 70% is problematic because it poses several challenges, ranging from negative economic impact to a problem regulating the state’s disparities in New Jersey weed laws across municipalities. Discrepancies in decisions can lead to significant economic and social impacts on communities. The opt-out by a majority of municipalities restricts the potential economic benefits that could arise from the cannabis industry, such as job creation and tax revenue.

Furthermore, the differences in the decision to opt out of cannabis legalization may hinder the development of a regulated cannabis market, impacting consumer access and the ability to control the industry effectively. Overall, the widespread opting out of municipalities in New Jersey presents obstacles to realizing the full potential benefits of legalizing cannabis at both the local and state levels.

Regardless, it is near impossible to ignore the success of the New Jersey weed market since its legalization more than three years ago. Today, there are more than 100 weed dispensaries in New Jersey. Equally legal weed cultivators and manufacturers are also in the state. In fact, according to the New Jersey Regulatory Cannabis Commission, there are more than 200 operating licenses in the state.

Effecting recreational marijuana New Jersey laws undoubtedly proved to be a step in the right direction as the state’s weed market has gone on to make numbers since its inception. New Jersey’s cannabis market earned $800,279,300 in medicinal and recreational cannabis sales in 2023. This itself was a step ahead of the $555,654,794 the market earned in 2022, bringing the burgeoning market to $1.3 billion since the beginning of recreational cannabis sales in April 2022.

New Jersey Weed Laws 

As with any other state, New Jersey has specific rules guiding the operation of cannabis businesses.

1. Regulatory Framework

The cannabis market’s regulatory framework that oversees the industry is the Cannabis Regulatory Commission (CRC). The CRC adopted its first set of rules for adult-use cannabis in August 2021 and began accepting license applications in December 2021. The organization’s efforts have led to the authorization of dispensaries, with the adult-use market officially opening on April 21, 2022, generating nearly $2 million in sales on the first day.

2. Possession And Use

According to recreational dispensary New Jersey laws, only residents or visitors in New Jersey who are 21 years or older can buy cannabis or cannabis products. This includes cannabis flowers, concentrates, edibles, etc., all of which should only be purchased from licensed dispensaries. Furthermore, in each transaction, dispensaries are allowed to sell up to the equivalent of 28.35 grams or 1 ounce of usable cannabis. It is essential to be aware that the consumption of cannabis is only permitted on private property, with property owners having the right to restrict its use.

3. Sales and Distribution

As previously mentioned, only businesses with the proper licensing and approval can legally sell cannabis, either for medical or recreational purposes. The license must be any approved types of licenses, such as those available for personal use licensed businesses under the CREAMM Act, including cultivator, manufacturer, wholesaler, distributor, retailer, and delivery licenses. Additionally, dispensaries must adhere to regulations such as odor mitigation practices, proper packaging, labeling, and inventory control.

 4. Growing and Cultivation

 It is illegal for individuals to grow even a single cannabis plant in New Jersey without an approved cultivator license. This is considered a third-degree crime, punishable by up to five years in prison and a $25,000 fine.

5. Social Equity and Taxation

 As with any other state in the USA, recreational cannabis in New Jersey is taxed at the state’s 6.625% sales tax plus a social equity excise fee of 1/3 of 1%. The state has implemented social equity measures to promote inclusivity and address disparities within the cannabis industry.

When Does Cannabis Possession Become a Crime?

In New Jersey, customers can buy only limited amounts of cannabis products. More precisely, you can only purchase up to:

  • 28.35 grams (1 ounce) of dried flower
  • 4 grams of solid cannabis concentrates or resin, or the equivalent of 4 grams of concentrate in liquid form (solution in milliliters)
  • 4 grams of vaporized formulations (oil), or
  • 1000 mg of multiple ingestible cannabis-infused products (10 100 mg packages) like gummies.

Purchasing or possessing any amount above the legally allowed amount of cannabis or cannabis product becomes a crime in New Jersey.

Weed Delivery In New Jersey

Although many dispensaries in New Jersey began as brick-and-mortar enterprises, advancements in the regulations now enable the establishment of weed delivery services. These services function like ordering your favorite foods from restaurants through UberEats, like ordering your favorite pork roll sandwiches from Slater’s Deli or sliders from White Manna.

Delivery operators, like Doobie, function like mobile dispensaries and usually offer a wide array of products. They don’t have a physical building you can walk into to purchase cannabis products. Instead, all purchases are made online through a website, www.trydoobie.com. After selecting your products, you select a delivery window, submit your payment, and your weed will be delivered to your door. With recreational weed delivery in New Jersey, you enjoy convenience and comfort while purchasing your favorite weed products.

Like any other physical dispensary, weed delivery services must abide by the state’s law. However, they must also hold a Class 6 Cannabis Delivery Service license issued by the Commission. They are also not allowed to cultivate, package cannabis, produce cannabis products, or sell cannabis to other cannabis businesses.

Deliveries by weed delivery services must be made in person to a legal consumer whose age has been verified, and cannabis items cannot be left unattended or delivered to minors. Weed delivery services are also required to establish policies for providing consumer information on cannabis use limitations, side effects, safe consumption techniques, and substance abuse resources.

Tips for Staying Safe and Legal

Do you plan to purchase and use cannabis in New Jersey? Here are some tips to keep you safe as you do so!

  • Choose a licensed dispensary or delivery operator to shop with
  • Always carry a valid, government-issued ID when visiting dispensaries to prove your age
  • Abide by the maximum purchasing amount
  • Consume cannabis products responsibly and in moderation.
  • Only consume or deliver cannabis to private properties
  • Don’t consume cannabis while driving
  • Be cautious about mixing cannabis with alcohol, medications, or other substances as it can lead to increased impairment. 

Before You Go

Although legal in New Jersey, weed sale, purchase, and consumption are guided by several strict regulations, being aware of what these regulations are will help you stay out of legal trouble while making the most of your cannabis experience.

Sign in
By continuing, you agree to our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.
Sign in
Create an account
My bag
Tax estimate
Order total
Edit delivery details
Doobie Just checking — you’re 21+ right?